Free workshops to help SA small businesses be prepared for natural disasters

Rural Business Support’s Business Readiness Program is helping 135 small rural and regional South Australian businesses to be better prepared to withstand and survive natural disaster events.

The project includes 27 free workshops across SA, with participants also receiving a half hour telephone consultation at a later date. The workshops will help you to:

– Identify your critical business resources, infrastructure and plant/equipment.

– Find out how your business would be impacted by several natural disaster scenarios.

– Plan key actions that can be taken before, during and afterwards to reduce and/or avoid these risks altogether.

– Develop your own Business Readiness Plan that can be saved, shared and regularly updated.

Funded under the Natural Disaster Resilience Program by the South Australian Government and the Commonwealth Department of Home Affairs, the workshops are open to any small regional business with less than 20 employees.

Read below what participants in our pilot workshops had to say:

"Very informative and important for any business to do.” "Made you think about your business’ vulnerabilities and risks.” “Got the brain ticking. Fabulous document to immediately use.” "... covered everything and was for every small business." "... looking to integrate the Business Readiness Plan with our existing plan."

Please tap on your preferred location below for the link to register. For more information please call Kellie Harrison at Rural Business Support on (08) 8364 2577 or email brp@ruralbusinesssupport.org.au.

Bordertown - Tue Feb 5, Tatiara Civic Centre, 2-4pm

Beachport - Wed Feb 6, Visitor Information Centre, 10am-12noon

Millicent - Wed Feb 6, Civic and Arts Centre, 3-5pm

Mount Gambier - Thurs Feb 7, District Council of Grant offices, 9-11am

Meningie - Wed Feb 20, Meningie Information Hub, 9-11am

Tailem Bend - Wed Feb 20, Tailem Bend Civic Centre, 1-3pm

Karoonda - Thur Feb 21, East Murray Council Chambers, 9-11am

Murray Bridge - Thur Feb 21, Murray Bridge Town Hall, 2-4pm

Kadina - Tue Feb 26, Copper Coast Visitor Information Centre, 2-4pm

Minlaton - Wed Feb 27, Yorke Peninsula Council Chambers, 10am-12noon

Kimba - Mon Mar 4, Kimba Soldiers Memorial Institute, 3-5pm

Cleve - Tue Mar 5, Cleve Golf Club, 9-11am

Port Lincoln - Wed Mar 6, Whyalla EP RDA Offices, 10am-12noon

Streaky Bay - Thur Mar 7, Streaky Bay Information Centre, 9-11am

Smoky Bay - Thur Mar 7, Smoky Bay Community Club, 2.30-4.30pm

Ceduna - Thur Mar 7, Ceduna Foreshore Hotel, 7-9pm

Wudinna - Fri Mar 8, Wudinna Information Centre, 10am-12noon

Port Pirie - Mon Mar 18, Port Pirie Library, 1pm

Jamestown - Tue Mar 19, Jamestown Medical Centre, 10am

Peterborough - Tue Mar 19, Council meeting room, 6pm

Port Augusta - Wed Mar 20, Port Augusta Business Centre, 10am

Eudunda - Tue Mar 26, Eudunda RSL Club, 9am

Balaklava - Tue Mar 26, Balaklava Council Chambers, 2.30pm

Clare - Wed Mar 27, Clare Town Hall, 9.30am

Burra - Wed Mar 27, Burra Council Chambers, 2pm

Kingscote - Mon Apr 1, Kingscote Council Chambers, 6pm

Goolwa - Mon Apr 8, Alexandrina Council meeting room, 10am

Nuriootpa - Wed Apr 10, Council Chambers, 10am